Back to Top 50 AlbumsThe The:

Album Lyrics

Track List:

(Click on album cover for lyrics)

  1. True Happiness This Way Lies
  2. Love Is Stronger Than Death
  3. Dogs Of Lust
  4. This Is The Night
  5. Slow Emotion Replay
  6. Helpline Operator
  7. Sodium Light Baby
  8. Lung Shadows
  9. Bluer Than Midnight
  10. Lonely Planet

Album Information:

Genre: Pop/Rock.
Produced By:
Matt Johnson & Bruce Lampcov.
Record Label:

Why This Album Is So Great:

I'm one of the numerous people waiting for the follow-up album to "Dusk". It's been five years now since this magnificent album and I'm starting to get impatient to listen to the strange world of Matt Johnson again. In many ways, he's unique in the music business. Many artist try to sound like him, but his mental universe is totally unpredictable. Well, back to the music. "Mind Bomb" is another favourite of mine by The The, but songs like "Love Is Stronger Than Death" "Dogs Of Lust" and "Slow Emotion Replay" stand out as some of the best from Matt Johnson's hand. Also, it seems like Mr. Johnson is somehow becoming a mature man, since "Dusk" is a less electronic and more "human" album than the very machine dominated eighties albums. To sum it up somehow, to me, Matt Johnson calls upon the same dark world as Morrissey, just even darker and more sinister. Scary stuff!

Overall Rating (on a scale from 1 to 10):9

If You Like This Artist, Check Out:

New Order, U2.

Links To Artist:
About The The
All-Music Guide (loads of information)


Where next? Check out music recommendations at THE HOTLIST

Copyright 1998 - 2006 LeMec Music Net