Back to Top 50 AlbumsPrefab Sprout:
Jordan: The Comeback

Prefab Sprout: Jordan: The Comeback

Track List:

  1. Looking For Atlantis
  2. Wild Horses
  3. Machine Gun Ibiza
  4. We Let The Stars Go
  5. Carnival 2000
  6. Jordan: The Comeback
  7. Jesse James Symphony
  8. Jesse James Bolero
  9. Moon Dog
  10. All The World Loves Lovers
  11. All Boys Believe In Anything
  12. The Ice Maiden
  13. Paris Smith
  14. The Wedding March
  15. One Of The Broken
  16. Michael
  17. Mercy
  18. Scarlet Nights
  19. Doo Wop In Harlem

Album Information:

Genre: State of the art pop music.
Produced By:
Thomas Dolby
Record Label:

Why This Album Is So Great:

Prefab Sprout, along with Pet Shop Boys, are probably the best pop music the world has seen the last decade. The great melodies, the air-filled arrangements and the melancholy is there - three ingredients that are vital in long lasting pop music.  I actually discovered Prefab Sprout quite late (around 1993) but I have since then used their music in all kinds of emotional soul searching. I recommend this, actually...If there is to be any "buts" about Prefab Sprout, it is that sometimes the music lacks a little bit of edge. I probably only say this because my taste in music has been moving toward more rocky and alternative styles the last couple of years. But within the field of pop music, Prefab Sprout are still one of the masters. This album contains quite a lot of songs and even though they all move within the same tone, they are very varied in style and atmosphere. I think the album has the best sound of all Prefab Sprout's albums since this is where they really found themselves. If you're not familiar with the band, an alternative to this album would be their Best Of from 1992.

Overall Rating (on a scale from 1 to 10): 8

If You Like This Artist, Check Out:

The Beautiful South, Lloyd Cole, The Dream Academy, Pet Shop Boys.

Links To Artist:
About Prefab Sprout
All-Music Guide (loads of information)


Where next? Check out music recommendations at THE HOTLIST


Copyright 1998 - 2006 LeMec Music Net